Message from the Executive

The Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association is a unique organization that has been serving the province for 57 years and counting.

Founded in 1955, the association has evolved into an important asset to the Manitoba sports community that continues to improve with each passing year.

The MSSA is the only organization of its kind in Canada which presents annual awards to local athletes.

The MSSA has also raised money to support the education of Manitoba sports journalists through the Jack Matheson Scholarships. Awarded to students studying journalism at post-secondary institutions, the Matheson Scholarships annually support up to three students.

While recognizing male and female athletes of the year as well as a team of the year, the association also honours the many men and women of the sports press corps with the Media Roll of Honour.

A who's who of Manitoba sportswriters and sportscasters are enshrined in the Roll of Honour, including legends like Cactus Jack Wells, Don Wittman, Jack Matheson, Hal Sigurdson and Bob Picken.

Picken, of course, deserves special recognition, having served on the association since its inception. Picken has been the association's secretary for decades and recently added the role of treasurer to his job list.

It is because of volunteers like Bob Picken and many others, who have been tireless in their efforts, that this association exists to serve the media members and sports enthusiasts of this province.

But the real stars of this organization are the people we recognize every year – the athletes themselves.